Dun-Well Doughnuts


Dun Well Doughnuts - Ginger Almond, Papaya

Spend your calories wisely. It’s hard to do in the culinary minefield that is New York, but key is to avoid the duds so you can indulge in the hits. Dun-Well Doughnuts is one of those hits that’s well worth the deep trek into Brooklyn.

You’d never know it, but they’re a vegan shop, and their creative range of flavors means multiple trips are likely in order.

IDun Well Doughnuts - Lavendar Raspberry‘m proud to say I can only tell you about two of them.

My ginger cravings lately led me to the ginger almond doughnut. If you’re not a fan of ginger’s natural flavors, you’re not going to like this because it’s packed full and deep of that raw spice, checked only by the nuttiness of the crunchy almonds. Why I haven’t seen this combination before is beyond me and why this isn’t offered in establishments around the world is kind of criminal.

I also got a taste of the lavender raspberry, which, ok, is a flavor combination that’s become more commonplace over the years. But I’m not being hyperbolic in describing that first bite as equivalent to falling into a sea of lavender. I’ve had my fair share of desserts based off this aromatic flower, and this really takes the cake.  We got the last one that Saturday around 1 pm.

So show up early to get your picks. You never know which of their 200-plus flavors they’ll have available.

Leave a comment